Awesome Sawce!

Saucwesome

Saucwesome

I love BBQ and BBQ sauce.  Despite years of cooking, this was my first foray into crafting a sauce of my own and let me tell you, in my humble opinion, this shit rocks HARD.  It’s sweet, spicy and tangy all at the same time.  It is the bastard child of Carolina and Texas style sauces.  I’m going to put this on all of my food for the next week and when it’s almost all gone I’m going to try to scrape every last ounce out of the mason jar and get my hand stuck in there Winnie the Poo style.   I don’t care.  This stuff is that good.  I have zero shame.

½ Finely Diced White Onion

¼ Cup Butter

1 Cup Ketchup

½ Cup Red Wine Vinegar

½ Cup Brown Sugar Firmly Packed

½ Cup Spicy Dijon Mustard

½ Cup Huy Fong Chili Garlic Sauce

½ Cup Cinnabourbon

½ Cup Liquid Smoke

¼ Cup Worcestershire Sauce

  • In a large sauce pan, sauté the onions in the butter until they become translucent.
  • Add all remaining ingredients to the pan and bring to a boil.
  • Lower heat and simmer for 25-30 minutes stirring occasionally.  Sauce will reduce by approximately ¼.

    Scalding Hot Awesome

    Scalding Hot Awesome

  • Remove from heat and cool for 10-15 minutes.
  • Transfer the sauce to a blender and blend on highest setting until sauce is smooth.
  • Jar and refrigerate.
  • Slather on all the food.  ALL THE FOOD!

One thought on “Awesome Sawce!

  1. Pingback: Dikembe Mu-tater-tots or Really Big Tater-Tots « Kicking Cooking

Leave a comment